NYCC 2013: New Avengers Books Announced

All New Marvel NOW banner

Avengers World

Marvel had a few big announcements for new titles in the franchise today at New York Comic-Con. First up was Avengers World, a new title from Jonathan Hickman, Nick Spencer, and Stefano Caselli that spins out of Infinity. Taking a cue from Hickman’s original throughline for his Avengers run — “we need to get bigger” — Avengers World will find Captain America and company building a global team of Avengers to help protect the world at large. The series will debut in January.

Avengers Undercover

Avengers Undercover is another new series written by Dennis Hopeless with art by Kev Walker — the team of the soon-to-be-ending Avengers Arena — that picks up the threads of Marvel’s teen heroes as they try to infiltrate the Masters of Evil. Hazmat, Death Locket, Cammy, Anachronism, and Bloodstone were all mentioned as a part of the series. Avengers Undercover is set to launch in March.

Black Widow #1

But it wasn’t just team books that Marvel revealed, as it was announced that Black Widow would finally be getting an ongoing series of her own, written by Nathan Edmondson with art by Phil Noto.

The series seems to be drawing upon Natasha’s history of espionage to show what she does in between her time with the Avengers and S.H.I.E.L.D. Black Widow #1 hits in January.

Loki: Agent of Asgard #1

And finally, movie arch nemesis Loki will be getting his own series in February. Loki: Agent of Asgard will be written by Al Ewing and feature art by Lee Garbett, and will star Kid Loki all grown up as he acts as Asgardia’s “one-man secret service.”

Avengers A.I.

Sam Humphries and Andre Araujo are coming up with “Avengers A.I.” #8.NOW, which was the “Extinction” teaser. “Frenemies” by Ales Kot and Michael Walsh was a new series of “Secret Avengers” with a new #1. “It’s close to what ‘Spider-Woman’ and ‘Avengers Assemble’ feels like,” said Kot. “We’re very much going back to the mission statement of Secret Avengers: don’t get seen, run the mission, save the world and don’t get as many things broken as you did the last time.” Spider-Woman, Black Widow, Hawkeye, Coulson and Nick Fury, Jr. are a part of the cast, and there’s a secret member.

Captain America

The “Mindbubble” teaser with Rick Remender, Pascal Alixe and Nic Klein ended up being the next arc coming up in “Captain America.” (The issue is billed as “Captain America” #16.NOW and “Captain America” #1 in All-New Marvel NOW!) Doctor Mindbubble is introduced in “Captain America” #17, the new villain of the arc.

Secret Avengers

Spencer and Kot’s “Secret Avengers” will continue with “How to Maim a Mockingbird,” the next story arc.

Stay tuned to Analog Addiction for more to come!


Jideobi is the Comic Editor at Analog Addiction where he writes all things comics and comic related(especially if X-Men). Also follow him on Twitter @Siphen0.

Jideobi Odunze Author

Editor for Geeked Out Nation/Beyond The Panel. Everything is permitted. #TeamCyke l #Reclaimer l #LARPer l Fantasy Geek Follow me on Twitter @Jideobi0. Email at


Comments are closed.